News Agencies Feed :

    Morocco & Three other African Countries Selected to Implement Second Phase of IAEA Regulatory Infrastructure Development Project in Africa

    30 Jan 2020

    Vienna - Morocco and three other African countries were selected by the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) to contribute to the implementation of the second phase of the IAEA’s Regulatory Infrastructure Development Project (RIDP) in Africa.

    'The project leaders have identified four so-called facilitating countries - Ethiopia, Kenya, Morocco, and Senegal,' IAEA said in a release.

    These countries 'will play a key role in the next phase of the project by facilitating the knowledge exchange and providing best practices from the region,' it added.

    In the first phase of the RIDP project in Africa, countries like Benin, Malawi, Rwanda and Seychelles, among others, have strongly benefited from the assistance provided to establish the national regulatory authorities with capacities to discharge regulatory responsibilities over the control of radiation sources.

    The regulatory body of Mauritania received RIDP assistance to put in place a fully operational inspection system.
    Similar projects were held in 2013 in Afghanistan and from 2014 to 2016 in North Africa and the Middle East.

    Radiation sources critical in medicine, industry, research, and education need to be handled with care to protect people and the environment from the potential harmful effects of radiation and to ensure that they do not end up in hands of unauthorized persons or organizations, the agency pointed out.

    “A strong and solid regulatory body, effectively independent, with appropriate legal authority, resources and technical competence is the first ally to ensure safe and secure use of radiation sources,” said Juan Carlos Lentijo, IAEA Deputy Director General and Head of the Department of Nuclear Safety and Security, at the launch of the second phase of the IAEA’s Regulatory Infrastructure Development Project (RIDP) in Vienna.

    The project is now supporting 37 African countries in establishing such regulatory bodies.

    “This Project fully combines the safety and security approach, bearing in mind differences between the two areas, and benefitting from full coordination and cooperation between key assistance mechanisms within the IAEA, including the Technical Cooperation Programme,“ said Lentijo.

    The second phase of the RIDP represents an increase of 24 participating countries compared to 13 when the project’s first phase was launched in 2017. This includes 28 IAEA Member States and nine non-IAEA Member States – Cape Verde, Comoros, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea Equatorial, Guinea Bissau, Sao Tome and Principe, the Federal Republic of Somalia and the Republic of South Sudan.


    Stock Market






    9 209,87

    0,82 %

    9 135,23


    11 329,76

    0,81 %

    11 238,86


    10 269,41

    0,50 %

    10 218,62

    Contact US | Powered by - All Rights Reserved